

TOWN OF HOLDEN

1196 MAIN STREET HOLDEN, MASSACHUSETTS 01520

TELEPHONE (508) 210-5540 Facsimile (508) 829-0252

ZONING BOARD OF APPEALS PUBLIC HEARING, May 21, 2020

David and Dorothy Lindberg

Case No. V-2005

The Zoning Board of Appeals held a remote public hearing on Thursday, May 21, 2020 at 7:58 p.m. on the Petition of David and Dorothy Lindberg for a VARIANCE for property located at 887 Main Street for relief from the rear yard setback requirements for a one-car garage. The remote meeting is consistent with Governor Baker's Executive Order, dated April 3, 2020, to amend the Open Meeting Law requirements in accordance with the State of Emergency prohibiting public gatherings as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Members in attendance: R. Spakauskas, S. Annunziata, J. Deignan, R. Fraser, F. Lonardo, D. George (1st Alternate), and B. Meljac (2nd Alternate)

Others in attendance: D. Lindberg – 887 Main St, C. Perkins – Secretary, N. Tricomi – 887A Main St, P. Harding – Town of Holden

- R. Spakauskas opened the hearing and reviewed the procedures for the remote meeting. The secretary continued with a reading of the application and findings of fact.
- R. Spakauskas then invited the petitioner to address the Board. D. Lindberg stated his request before the Board is to be granted relief of 12 ft from the rear yard setback requirement for a one-car garage. D. Lindberg explained the history of the property and due to the changes made in dividing the property many years ago, this had reduced his rear yard. The proposed garage would be located at the end of the existing driveway and due to the lot sloping off in all four directions, making this lot unique in shape, this is the only place the garage can be placed.
- R. Spakauskas asked the Board for comments or questions. F. Lonardo stated the plot plan presented was not an official survey of the land and questioned the accuracy of the lot. D. Lindberg stated this is an accurate representation of the lot and P. Harding then shared an image of the Approval Not Required (ANR) lots presented to the Planning Board in 1995.
- D. George asked if the division of these lots shown on the ANR created the hardship for the petitioner and D. Lindberg concurred.
- F. Lonardo was still not in favor of the proposed plot plan but stated if the rest of the Board was ok with plan presented, he would agree to move on. The remaining six (6) Board members agreed this plot plan would be sufficient and a condition would be added to this approval to ensure accuracy of the lot.

R. Spakauskas opened the meeting up for public comment. N. Tricomi of 887A Main St stated he has no issues with Mr. Lindberg's request and is in full favor of the request to build a garage.

The Board had no further comments or questions. R. Spakauskas thanked everyone and provided a review of the appeal period. R. Fraser made a motion to vote and J. Deignan seconded.

The Board unanimously voted 7-0 with the following conditions:

1. A certified as-built plan will be required showing the building footprint of the garage

The public hearing was closed at 8:24 p.m.

Ronald E. Spakauskas, Chairman	



TOWN OF HOLDEN

1196 MAIN STREET HOLDEN, MASSACHUSETTS 01520

TELEPHONE (508) 210-5540 Facsimile (508) 829-0252

ZONING BOARD OF APPEALS PUBLIC HEARING, May 21, 2020

- New Business/Other Business
 - 1. Zoning Board Members Re-Appointments
 - F. Lonardo, current Zoning Board member, stated he would like to change status from a full voting Board member to now serve as an alternate Board member. He had spoken with D. George, currently serving as an alternate, whom had agreed to fill F. Lonardo's seat as a full voting member with the Board's approval.
 - F. Lonardo made a motion to vote that as of May 31, 2020, D. George will serve as a full voting Board member and F. Lonardo will serve as an alternate Board member; J. Deignan seconded that motion. The Board voted unanimously, all in Favor 7-0.

At the Selectman's Meeting, held on May 18, 2020, they announced the reappointments of S. Annunziata, voting member, and B. Meljac, alternate voting member, to serve for a three year term now expiring on May 31, 2023.

Ronald E. Spakauskas, Chairman	